1985 novel by larry mcmurtry

6.74  ·  6,579 ratings  ·  143 reviews
Posted on by
1985 novel by larry mcmurtry

Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

A love story, an adventure, and an epic of the frontier, Larry McMurtry’s Pulitzer Prize— winning classic, Lonesome Dove, the third book in the Lonesome Dove tetralogy, is the grandest novel ever written about the last defiant wilderness of America.

Journey to the dusty little Texas town of Lonesome Dove and meet an unforgettable assortment of heroes and outlaws, whores and ladies, Indians and settlers. Richly authentic, beautifully written, always dramatic, Lonesome Dove is a book to make us laugh, weep, dream, and remember.

Series in order of publication:
Lonesome Dove (1985)
Streets of Laredo (1993)
Dead Mans Walk (1995)
Comanche Moon (1997)

Series in order of internal chronology:
Dead Mans Walk – set in the early 1840s
Comanche Moon – set in the 1850–60s
Lonesome Dove – set in mid-to-late 1870s
Streets of Laredo – set in the early 1890s
File Name: 1985 novel by larry mcmurtry.zip
Size: 94569 Kb
Published 17.03.2019

True Grit Audiobook

Published by Simon and Schuster in in black cloth, the copyright page of first editions of Lonesome Dove have a complete number line beginning with "1. Showing best matches Show all copies.
Larry McMurtry

Larry McMurtry

Larry Jeff McMurtry born June 3, is an American novelist, essayist, bookseller, and screenwriter whose work is predominantly set in either the Old West or in contemporary Texas. His Pulitzer Prize-winning novel Lonesome Dove was adapted into a television miniseries that earned 18 Emmy Award nominations seven wins , with the other three novels in his Lonesome Dove series adapted into three more miniseries, earning eight more Emmy nominations. He earned degrees from the University of North Texas B. McMurtry states in his memoir that he spent his first five or six years in his grandfather's house on a ranch without books, but his extended family would sit on the front porch every night and tell stories. In , when his cousin Robert Hilburn on his way to enlist for World War II stopped by the ranch house and left a box containing 19 books, he began to read.

It is the first published book of the Lonesome Dove series but the third installment in the series chronologically. The story focuses on the relationship among several retired Texas Rangers and their adventures driving a cattle herd from Texas to Montana. Set in the closing years of the Old West , the novel explores themes of old age, death, unrequited love , and friendship. The novel was a bestseller and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. He spent several years working on it intermittently, between writing Cadillac Jack and The Desert Rose , and eventually submitted it to his publishers in It is the late s.

You are here

Skip to main content. Email to friends Share on Facebook - opens in a new window or tab Share on Twitter - opens in a new window or tab Share on Pinterest - opens in a new window or tab. Add to Watchlist. People who viewed this item also viewed. Picture Information. Mouse over to Zoom - Click to enlarge.

There seems to be a problem serving the request at this time. Skip to main content. Filter 1. Best Selling. Lonesome Dove: Streets of Laredo No.

3 thoughts on “Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

Leave a Reply