The dark is rising plot

7.65  ·  5,722 ratings  ·  317 reviews
Posted on by
the dark is rising plot

The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper

This series is fantastic, and has been horridly overlooked, particularly so seeming that our current culture seems so fascinated with all things Potter. Not that The Dark Is Rising is anything like Harry Potter - not at all. Its thickly steeped in Celtic and Arthurian legend, is relentless in its exploration of a myriad of layers of history and time, and simply reeks of magic. I love this series, and have for years. Within the past two years, I introduced these books to my wife, who seethed with anticipation for the next time we would sit down so I could read to her. Ill do the same, given time, with my daughter - Im really looking forward to that.

If youre a fan in any way of LEngles A Wrinkle in Time series, I have a feeling youll dig these books. Theyre very much their own work, but Im trying to give you a place to leap forth from.
File Name: the dark is rising
Size: 30337 Kb
Published 18.08.2019

Susan Cooper: 'A Catch of the Breath', Tolkien Lecture 2017

It's Will's eleventh birthday, but instead of celebrating getting closer to official teenagedom, he finds out that he's actually an Old One.
Susan Cooper

The Dark Is Rising

This novel is set in Susan Cooper 's childhood home of Dorney in Buckinghamshire. On Will Stanton 's 11th birthday, he discovers he is the last of the Old Ones , beings with ancient knowledge of the power of the Light , and must collect and join Six Signs to wage a battle against the Dark. He is aided in his quest by Merriman Lyon , the first of the Old Ones, and races to retrieve the signs before the forces of the Dark, led by the mysterious Black Rider. Dogging his footsteps is the sinister yet somehow sympathetic Walker , whose role in the struggle along with Will's family reveals the cruel consequences of loved ones caught in the middle of a timeless war. When the Dark starts to rise, Will with the help of Merriman Lyon and Herne the Hunter , stall the Dark in their effort and wait until the second and final rising. The story begins on a snowy Midwinter's Eve in the Stantons' household in the village of Huntercombe , where Will awaits his eleventh birthday, living his apparently ordinary life.

Sign in. A boy's life is turned upside down when he learns that he is the last of a group of immortal warriors who have dedicated their lives to fighting the forces of the dark. The film tells the story of Will Stanton, a young man who learns he is the last of a group of warriors who have dedicated their lives to fighting the forces of the Dark. Traveling back and forth through time, Will discovers a series of clues which lead him into a showdown with forces of unimaginable power. With the Dark once again rising, the future of the world rests in Will's hands. This is the story of a young man, named Will Stanton, who discovers he is the last of a group of immortals dedicated to fighting the dark forces of evil.

Contribute to This Page

When you grow up in Florida, like I did, weirdness is plentiful but winter is scarce. For me, reading about winter thus became an essential and compulsory corrective to the still-green outdoors as the holidays approached. I read The Dark is Rising years ago, and although its plot details had faded, I remembered its cataclysmic snowstorm, among other wintery elements. And as it turns out, the titular novel and the other four books in the sequence are also spot-on selections for this winter in particular, the Winter of Dystopia CE. The reread will continue until Jan. I mean, these books were part of my mythology, constellations in the zodiac of my interior life. Yes, as it turns out, and to quite a lot of people.

5 thoughts on “The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper

  1. Plugged In exists to shine a light on the world of popular entertainment while giving you and your family the essential tools you need to understand, navigate and impact the culture in which we live.

Leave a Reply